2016 Goals: Write, Invest, Learn and Finish

Good mother of cow pearls, it’s been more than a year since I posted anything! You guys (subscribers) must be wondering if I’m still alive. Well yes! I guess I took a looong hiatus. Partially because work’s been taking a lot of my time away (and the addicting game Heroes of the Storm)..

2015 was a crazy year – I no longer live in Torrance, CA.  I moved to the San Gabriel Valley (that’s where tons of Chinese people live), but now live closer to the Pasadena area. My brother and his family moved to Plano, TX – so I’m practically all alone here now in CA; the rest of the family is in Asia.

Anyways, this year I will strive to blog more, or at least write more.

2016 Goals:

  • Finish my new novel, Verdant Skies (a rewrite of my 2014 nanowrimo attempt)
  • Learn more about Personal Finance (Making proper investments, including investing in myself!)
  • Career change (I’m thinking front end development and got a backlog of courses to finish)

***

So it’s the 2nd half of January now. So far what have I been doing?

#1 Goal – To Finish a Novel

It’s been 6 years since I last finished a novel (a 300+ page mystery that never saw the light of day). I’ve learned that writing is just like any art, like playing an instrument – you gotta use this muscle or else it will atrophy! So that’s what I’ve been trying to do more often.

I am on my 2nd revision of Verdant Skies. I figured out what my problem was back in 2014 and before that – I didn’t know what the overarching goal or plot was. I just jammed all my cool ideas together.

So now I’ve simplified the story to “A group of teenagers go on an adventure to find a mysterious lost city within a massive multiplayer virtual reality game”. It’s a mystery adventure in a nutshell.  Like Ready Player One meets .hack  or James Dashner’s Mortality Doctrine meets Tad William’s Otherland series told in a Sword Art Online novel.  But really, I want to think of it as a bunch of kids inside the Jules Verne novel, Journey to the Center of the Earth.

Anyways, I recently joined the North East Los Angeles writer’s meetup (formerly known as the Pasadena Writers) so I’m hoping I’ll get spurred to finally finish this book. I’ve also been listening to the Writing Excuses podcast more. I’ll write more on these later.

Books I’ve recently read or listened to in audio book –

Big Magic –  Elizabeth Gilbert

Crazy Rich Asians – Kevin Kwan

China Rich Girlfriend – Kevin Kwan

Maoyu (manga)

Clockwork Princess – Cassandra Clare

You’re Never Weird on the Internet – Felicia Day

~ I’m currently too lazy to write reviews, but if you comment below, I *might* attempt to do so~

Leave a Reply

