Tales of Xillia Review

Tales of Xillia – I bought this game a few weeks after it’s US release because I was craving for a new but traditional JRPG fantasy game. I got a limited edition copy from Ebay and started playing it as soon as it arrived. I haven’t played a Tales game since the PlayStation1 days, but I remembered it having a fun battle system.

While the graphics couldn’t compare to PS3 Final Fantasy standards, the game quickly drew me in with its quirky characters and interesting world. It was a fun journey despite the story lacking in drive and a couple of narrative pitfalls. Jude’s story is about a 15-yr old medical student who ends up accompanying Milla Maxwell, the lord of the spirits, on a journey to save both mankind and spiritkind from the dangers of a device known as the Lance of Kresnik. Jude and Milla were like opposite sides of a coin, one a reluctant and shy boy and the other a stubborn, strong-willed woman. If you play along, you’ll see the characters grow and mature.

The skits were entertaining, though it’s anime-style humor could get rather cliche’d. I didn’t like the character Alvin at all–until maybe the last chapter that explained why he does what he does–a narrative wrap-up that’s not so neat given the inconsistent storyline.

If you’re thinking of getting this game, be advised: this game can get pretty long. I spent around 70 hours just to complete Jude’s story, albeit I tried to complete as many side quests and skits as I could. Honestly, however, I stopped playing this game for 2-3 months right after the “twist” – which I consider an awkward turn from the original plot. During chapter 3, I was assuming that the game would be over and the quest would end upon defeating X and Y. When Z happened, and I looked up there’s another abc..I took a break and played Ni No Kuni. When I managed to come back to Tales, I didn’t have a problem getting back into it, and I played until completion.

Battle Gameplay Trailer

The best thing this game has to offer is the battle system. Especially in the beginning, you have full control of your character: from planning your punches, evading and jumping. You get to develop your character through the Lilium Orb system, choosing which stats to upgrade, what skills and artes to choose, etc. Sadly though, I ended up overpowering my characters (the battle system is so frickin addictive) that in the later stages, I just spammed attacks until the enemies died. The coliseum stage (optional) is a different story though-which works agains button mashing and you’ll have to use strategy to win. But in normal battles, the pace got too fast with so many things going on that I couldn’t see what was happening on the screen. Playing a spell caster might be a different story though…

 

Overall rating: A bit too long and unbalanced. Would recommend to RPG fans
Graphics: 3.5/5
Gameplay: 5/5
Characters: 3/5
Story: 2/5
Music: 2/5
Leave a Reply

